Saturday, September 5, 2015  
Account Login  

  need help?  
Search By Keyword
Breaking News Alerts
Email Alerts
Email Address
Text Alerts
Mobile Number
 )  - 
Mobile Provider
standard messaging rates apply
Grammy nominated artist performs in Hanska

Justin Roberts performs at The Hanska Library.
The Hanska Library had a very special guest last week. “We are so lucky to have musician Justin Roberts here in Hanska,” said librarian Darlene Nelson. He has played at venues and festivals such as New York City’s Symphony Space, Washington DC’s National Geographic Live, Los Angeles’ Getty Museum, Seattle’s Moore Theater, Lollapalooza and Chicago’s Ravinia. “He has been nominated for two Grammy Awards,” Nelson said. “From here he is headed to the Minnesota State Fair.”
Roberts began his music career in a Minneapolis-based indie-rock band called Pimentos for Gus. However, during the day, he was a Montessori preschool teacher. It wasn’t long before Roberts began writing and singing songs for his students. Their response inspired him to record some of his songs. He ended up connecting with Liam Davis, a college pal and music producer, who suggested that they record the songs professionally. Davis actually was also with Roberts in Hanska and played the electric ukulele, as well as some other instruments, and provided extra vocals, on the songs they performed for the Hanska crowd. 

Visitor Comments

click ad below for details
  • Show All Ads